Calicut Notebook; Qusais


I could probably eat South Indian food 3 times a day and still not get sick of it.

Ambiance: This restaurant is quite big and have a lot of seating space. Though you might find Calicut Notebook half the time completely empty which we personally like – eating in peace without the chatter and clatter. The place is well lit and you can also view the kitchen and the chefs cooking up your food.

Service: I am very disappointed with the serving staff. They are so disinterested in serving you and that’s when you don’t really find the food appetising. The look so grave, so sad.. I just don’t know what the reason is. Its not the first time we have been to Calicut notebook, this is always the case. Please management, work on this aspect, this puts off the customers.

Price: I would say that the price is what gets us back here – when you need some cheap thrills kerela style 😛

What we ate;

Kerela Fish Curry Meals (brown rice/ white rice) [14AED] : Who does not love some yummy meals with unlimited food? We opted for meals here like always and were presented with rice, achars (pickles), various curries and popadums (papads).

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 11.49.55 AM.png

8 curries inclusive of their delicious kerela payasam (sweet dish). There were two kinds of fish curries out of which the coconut one was my favourite. The red curry was too strong and tangy for my taste. The sambar was quite average and I liked it with some pickle and papad. The vegetables were hands down my favourite. To end the meal, the payasam was hot and just perfect and so we shamelessly asked for another serving each. 

Final Thoughts: We will be going to this place next week to have their meals, biryani and a curry or two and will then update my review. For now, I quite like this place.. with a few cooking improvements and change in staff behaviour, this place would not be so empty. Also disclaimer, I have had better meals.. but it was quite yummy too.

Find them: Level 1, Lulu Hypermarket, Near Stadium Metro Station, Amman Street, Qusais, Dubai

Reach them: 04 2808254 / 0526459074


P.s For photos please head over to my Zomato – the quality (pixels) were not quite matching up to the standard of my Blog. My apologies.


Ambience: ♦ ♦ ♦

Service: ♦ 

Pricing: ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Eating Experience: ♦ ♦ ♦ 

Over All: ♦ ♦ ♦

Calicut Notebook Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

